The Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) is a quasi-judicial board established under the Municipal Government Act by the participating municipalities. The SDAB hears appeals on decisions made by the subdivision authority or development authority of the participating municipalities and renders decisions based on the evidence presented as part of the hearing process.

The Regional SDAB is made up of citizen members who are independent of the planning and development departments or committees whose decisions may be the subject of an appeal. The SDAB makes decisions in an impartial manner and applies the principles of natural justice and procedural fairness in its conduct of hearings. This includes the right to a public hearing, the right to be treated fairly, the right of affected parties to be heard, the right to an adjournment to be adequately prepared where merited, and the right to legal counsel and representation.

As of June 30, 2019, the following municipalities are participants in the Regional SDAB:

  • City of Lacombe
  • Town of Olds
  • Town of Three Hills
  • Town of Rimbey
  • Town of Bentley
  • Village of Alix
  • Village of Caroline
  • Village of Donalda
  • Village of Elnora
  • Town of Ponoka
  • Town of Trochu
  • Town of Millet
  • Town of Penhold
  • Village of Beiseker
  • Village of Carbon
  • Village of Clive
  • Village of Linden
  • Town of Rocky Mountain House
  • Summer Village of Burnstick Lake
  • Summer Village of Gull Lake
  • Summer Village of Parkland Beach
  • Summer Village of Rochon Sands
  • Summer Village of Sundance Beach
  • Summer Village of Itaska Beach
  • Summer Village of Silver Beach